You must be a Board Owner or Board Administrator to change permissions on a board. Only Board Owners can grant Board Administrator permissions.

To change permissions on a board, click on your avatar next to the board's name or click “members” on the navigation item. From your members view click on the ellipses drop down and select edit permissions (or if you are on your mobile, click the horizontal drop-down menu on the top left of your screen and select "members" and from there you can perform the same actions.

Choose the board member and select the new permission level you would like to apply. The new permission level will take effect immediately when selected.

Pro-tip: When you add new members to a board, their permission level defaults to Board Member.

Types of Board Members

When it comes to permissions on a board, there are five different types of members:

Board Owner

Can create, edit, and move tasks/lists as well as manage board settings. Can delete boards. Can pass ownership.

Board Administrator

Can create, edit, and move tasks/lists. Can manage board settings.

Board Member

Can create, edit, and move tasks/lists. (default permission level for new board members)

Restricted View

Can view all tasks, and can create new tasks but is only allowed to edit tasks created by or assigned to them.

Read-only

Can view all tasks.

Note: You must be a Board Owner or Board Administrator to change permissions on a board. Only Board Owners can grant Board Administrator permissions.

Board Permissions

To access board permissions, go to Board Settings in the board.

Select the Permissions tab

Commenting Permissions

In Board Settings under Permissions, you can change who is allowed to comment on tasks on a board:

  • Disabled - no one is allowed to comment

  • Board Owners - Allows only Board Owners to comment

  • Board Admins - Allows only Board Admins and Board Owners to comment

  • Board Members - Allows only Board Members, Board Admins, and Board Owners to comment (this is the default setting)

  • Restricted View - Allows only Restricted View, Board Members, Board Admins, and Board Owners to comment.

  • Read-only - Allows all members to comment.

Automation permissions

In Board Settings under Permissions, you can change who is allowed to access Automations on a board:

  • Board Owners - Allows only Board Owners to access Automations

  • Board Admins - Allows only Board Admins and Board Owners to access Automations

  • Board Members - Allows only Board Members, Board Admins, and Board Owners to access Automations (this is the default setting)

Invitation permissions

In Board Settings under Permissions, you can change who is allowed to invite users to a board:

  • Board Owners - Allows only Board Owners to invite users to a board

  • Board Admins - Allows only Board Admins and Board Owners to invite users to a board (this is the default setting)

  • Board Members - Allows only Board Members, Board Admins, and Board Owners invite users to a board

Learn more about:Changing board owners

Learn more about Global User Permissions

Did this answer your question?